So here it is: My professional piece for my digital writing workshop class.

Figuring out what to do what somewhat challenging, but I’m not sure why considering I wrote about such ideas in many of my freewrites.

I chose to do a sort of show-and-tell criticism of the Springfield News-Leader’s Ozarks Exposure feature. Confused by what that means? Just watch “From bland to intriguing” and learn.

By simply using a digital camera, digital recorder, GarageBand and iMovie, I was able to take a bland webpage and turn it into an intriguing story. I believe and hope more people would want to watch and read this digital story than the typical print story-pasted web story. Sure, it took a bit more time to create this video. But if the readers are happy, newspapers will stay in business and journalists will keep their jobs – a triple win situation, really. And if the staff photographers or whoever is in control of creating such digital pieces are too busy, hire a freelancer – there are plenty of college students who know the technology and would be happy to add experience to their resume.